Process reflection

This course has really informed me a lot in terms of the way how policies are carried in our capitalist economic system, not only in the States but also in other countries as we do comparative studies. Before I came to this course, I only knew as much as the social construction of illnesses and how social institutions like the pharmaceutical companies have a huge influence in the diseases and drugs that become marketed. After this course, I learnt a lot more things and question a lot more things that I used to take for granted; such as the options we may have for our end of life care, and alternative care providers such as hospices and nursing homes. If anything, this course has made me more reflexive as a potential patient of our complex healthcare system.

Leave a comment